Can’t you sign out of your Apple ID on the iPhone or iPad due to Restrictions?
Sometimes, you may want to switch the account on your iPhone or iPad or transfer the device to others. When you head to sign out your Apple ID on the iPhone or iPad, just find the greyed out Sign Out option on the iCloud account screen with the message “Sign out is not available due to restrictions”.What should you do and how to sign out of the apple id due to restrictions? Let’s check the fix solutions around that in this article.
What Does Sign Out is Not Available due to Restrictions Mean?
This “Sign Out is Not Available due to Restrictions” (iOS 13/14) message means that you can’t sign out of your iCloud account due to some restrictions. What Restrictions are there that stop you from signing out of the Apple ID? These are screen time restrictions and limits turned on your iPhone or iPad or screen time limits enabled via the family sharing organizer’s device. Meantime you will discover that the Sign Out option is greyed out.
Why Can’t I Sign Out of My Apple ID due to Restrictions on iPhone or iPad?
Take heart, you can fix the problem by removing the “restrictions”. To fix sign out is unavailable due to restrictions, you can’t bypass getting rid of screen time limits and completely disabling screen time. This because you have turned on the screen time(restrictions & limits) or even lock the feature with a screen time password.
Apple’s screen time aims to address the problems of smartphone addition and increasing smartphone using time. It makes you aware of the amount of time you are spending on your devices and what you are doing on them.
In this article, we will show you how to successfully take screen time off and sign out of your Apple ID.
There are the following occasions about this problem. Apple ID sign out is not available due to restrictions that should happen on the device of an iPhone, an iPad or a Mac. Among these occasions, iPhone or iPad sign out not available due to restrictions is the most common scenerios. Apple ID sign-out is not available due to restrictions problem may happen on your own device or your child’s device when you have family sharing. You can turn the screen time off free by yourself to fix it. Or if failed, you can use the third-party software we have tested useful to remove the Apple ID, either from your iPhone or iPad or Child’s iPhone or iPad.
Do not forget to take a fresh backup on iTunes or iCloud before you begin the below process. You may need to restore from this fresh backup later. Thus you won’t lose your data. Note that signing out of the Apple ID will erase your data.
Method 1: Free Fix by Turning Off Screen Time on iPhone or iPad Manually.
Sign out is not available on your personal iPhone or iPad fix solution via disabling screen time.
- Head to the Settings app.
- Tap Screen Time.
- On the Screen Time screen, scroll all the way down and choose “Turn Off Screen Time”.
- Your iPhone/iPad will ask you to enter your Screen Time Passcode. Do so to proceed.
Hooray. Now you can sign out your Apple ID successfully from Settings> [your name]> Sign Out.
If the Sign Out Option is still greyed out after you disabling the screen time on your personal iPhone/iPad, restart your iPhone or iPad or wait for a while, you should see your iPhone or iPad Sign Out Option is not greyed out then.
Sign out is not available on your child’s iPad or iPhone fix solution (with family sharing on).
- On the organizer’s iPhone or iPad, Choose the Child’s name under Family.
- Tap Turn off Screen Time.
- Enter the screen time password you have set for your Child’s iPhone or iPad (not your passcode).
Thankfully, you are able to sign out from your child’s device.
If the Sign out Option is still greyed out after you disabling the screen time on your Child’s iPhone/iPad, restart the iPhone or iPad or wait for a while, you should see Sign out is not greyed out on your Child’s iPhone or iPad then. There is a short delay sometimes.
Still can’t sign out of iCloud on iPhone due to restrictions or forgot your screen time passcode? Turn to this smart app in Method 2 for help.
Method 2：Use this SD iPhone Unlocker to Sign out/Remove the Apple ID of iPhone/iPad with Screen Time.
First of all, turn off Find My on your iPhone or iPad.
To turn off Find My iPhone/iPad, go to settings > [your name] > Find My. Tap it and toggle the Find My iPhone or Find My iPad off. You will be asked to enter your Apple ID password. Do so to proceed. Afterwards, the Find My is turned off on your devices.
Later, you can use this method in the following situations.
With this third-party software, you don’t need to turn off screen time to sign out. The software will remove Apple ID from iOS devices directly.
- Sign out is not available due to restrictions on your device or your child’s device without family sharing. And you want to sign out of the Apple ID.
- Sign out is not available due to restrictions on the child’s device with the organizer’s family sharing and screen time passcode. This app can help you remove the Apple ID on both devices.
To sign out of your Apple ID with screen time via the software, free download this app on your PC or Mac.Unlock Apple ID to remove sign out restrictions.
Step 1: Start the app and Go to the Unlock Apple ID section.
Step 2: Connect your iPhone or iPad to the computer with USB.
Step 3: Click start to unlock your Apple ID.
When your iPhone burst into life, it will ask you to enter your Apple ID. Now your previous Apple ID has been signed out and you can sign in with another Apple ID. You can restore your iPhone/iPad from your latest backup after switching the Apple ID.
Video Tutorial on how to fix sign out is not available due to restrictions on iPhone or iPad.
Why does my iPhone or iPad say sign out is not available due to restrictions? That’s because you’ve turned on screen time restrictions or limits on your device.
Generally speaking, you can sign out of your Apple ID on iPhone or iPad by turning off screen time due to restrictions. If you can’t turn off screen time restrictions, use the above Apple ID removing software to sign out your iCloud account with screen time directly, and set it up later. Signing out an Apple ID will cause data loss. Do remember to back up your data before switching your iCloud account on your iPhone/iPad.
Having trouble turning off your screen time restrictions? Read our proven solution here: How to Turn off Screen Time(iPhone iPad) without Passcode.
You may also want to read: