iPad says security lockout on the screen, then how to bypass security lockout iPad? Many…
When you see the iPhone Unavailable screen, you may wonder how long the iPhone unavailable lasts.
In this article, we explain to you the answer clearly. Read on.
There are mainly two types of iPhone Unavailable messages, iPhone Unavailable or Security Lockout. Indeed, they are similar problems with different sayings.
If your iPhone shows Security Lockout, the solutions are the same. And how long iPhone Security lockout lasts share the same answer.
How long does iPhone Unavailable last? including iOS 17.
On iOS 16 or later, iPhone Unavailable can last up to 8 hours.
From iOS 15 to before iOS 16, iPhone Unavailable can last up to 1 hour.
If the iPhone Unavailable lockout message is showing “iPhone Unavailable try again in X minutes”, the message will last X minutes before showing you the unlocking screen password screen again. The showing X minutes is actually a countdown. You will see the live update about how long you need to wait for another passcode attempt.
For example. If it shows “Try again in 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes, 1 hour, 3 hours, 8 hours”, the messages will last respectively 1 minute, 5 minutes,15 minutes, or 1 hour, 3 hours, 8 hours before your another try passcode again.
If the message is showing iPhone Unavailable with no timer (no try again in X minutes), the iPhone Unavailable will last forever if your iPhone has enough power. That means it won’t disappear when your iPhone is powered on unless you unlock it.
The iPhone Unavailable try again messages will last for the X minutes before giving another try for passcode entry. What does it mean? It means you can remove the iPhone Unavailable screen with the correct passcode entry within 10 times.
On the contrary, you have no chance to input the passcode, whether it’s the correct password or the wrong one when it shows you the iPhone Unavailable with no time or no try again screen, or you should see the “try your passcode again in null” message after tapping Erase iPhone option.
Finally, you can also see the “You can try your passcode again in null” message for reaching the 10-time incorrect passcode limit. 10-time wrong passcode is the most severe measure set by Apple’s built-in Security protection.
In a word, if you forgot your passcode with either iPhone Unavailable try again in X or iPhone Unavailable no time, you should reset and unlock it to remove the lockout screen.
Note if you won’t fix the problem when it’s showing iPhone Unavailable or Security Lockout with no time, It’s unavailable permanently. It will always stay on this black lockout screen with these messages if powered on. A hard restart or soft reset won’t get rid of it either. The only way to unlock it is to reset it(wipe everything). And the only way to retrieve your data is to restore it from your backups after a reset.
For iPhone Unavailable Security lockout solutions, please refer to: How to Fix iPhone Unavailable Lock Screen – 4 Solutions